Home Login/Register Roster Schedule Results Archives
Locations
Calendar
Bylaws
Rules
FAQs
Officers
Weather
Forms
Message Board
Classifieds
Feedback
Links
Log In


Returning serves during warmup

Question:

I have had two occasions recently where opponents returned my serves during warmup. Is this allowed? It was very disruptive to my warmup.

Answer:

USTA rules say that serves should NOT be returned during warmup. It used to be written that you shouldn't return warm up serves, unless you ask your opponent and you must return them at a reasonable pace. However USTA now says you shouldn't return serves for two reasons. One is that is causes confusion and disrupts the warm up. The other reason is that taking serves is for the purpose of warming up serves, not practicing your returns. It's a warm up rather than practice.

9 person(s) had a similar situation.


Did you have a situation like this?

Ask a Question

Previous Question

Next Question


Copyright © 2003-2004 League Sports Publishing. All rights reserved.